Interview with an Atheist

3

March 20, 2013 by Drew

398140_131651656999127_640338567_nMay 5 has been declared, “Interview an Athiest Sunday,” and I plan on participating, with Lafayette Ave. Presbyterian Church.  You can read the whole backstory to the event at their website.

I plan on participating because I think that believers can learn from non-believers, and vis versa.  I think that even if we couldn’t Christians would be wise to get better at listening.  I don’t think you have the right to speak unless you are willing to listen first.

I’m excited because as soon as I signed up for the event, I was inundated with atheists that wanted to be interviewed.  (I am a fantastic evangelist when it comes to making “contacts,” lousy when it comes to “conversions.”)

Speaking of conversions, as much as I would love for these atheists to come to faith in Jesus Christ (and as much as they would like me to embrace reason and reject superstitious religion,) I do not plan on trying to win an argument (or even have an argument) during this event.  I plan on modeling respectful conversation and bridge building.  I’m doing this because it will be good for the church to hear the stories of those on the “outside.”  It could even be good for the atheists to tell their stories, too!

The only question is whether my “church” friends will want to host an atheist, too.  There are already many atheists who want to be interviewed!

At the very least, you will get to hear an interview at Lafayette Church as 10am or 6pm on May 5.

3 thoughts on “Interview with an Atheist

  1. Mary Lee Talbot says:

    I agree with you completely. Way to go.

  2. […] Drew Ludwig, Pastor at Lafayette Presbyterian Church in Buffalo NY, blogs about the interview he will conduct on May 5 here. […]

  3. […] Pastor Drew Ludwig blogs about the project here. […]

Leave a Reply

